2017 Reading List

on

The Aviator’s Wife

Melanie Benjamin

Goodreads: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Portia Bridgewood: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

I must admit this book was fantastic. I was hooked from page one. I took this book everywhere I went in hopes that I could get a few pages read in the spare moments of my day.

The Aviator’s Wife is all about Charles Lindbergh’s wife, Anne. Melanie Benjamin shines light on the struggles of being in a relationship with the famous pilot, the constant overshadowing and the control, or lack of, that Anne faced in her marriage with Charles.

YOU MUST READ THIS BOOK. END OF STORY.


Awakening

Sharon Bolton

Goodreads: ⭐⭐⭐

Portia Bridgewood: ⭐⭐

This book is about a snake invasion in an England town. I repeat. THIS. BOOK. IS. ABOUT. A. SNAKE. INVASION.

And guess what!?

I finished reading it. Every single page.

Weirdest book ever. The only reason I kept reading was to conquer my fear of snakes. Oh, and because I NEED to know what happens in a book once I start reading it. (What if I miss something good, for crying out loud?!)

 


The Cuckoo’s Calling

Robert Galbraith

Goodreads: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Portia Bridgewood: ⭐⭐

This book has been hyped for a few years now. I’ve tried listening to it on audiobook a couple of times and it just hasn’t really caught my attention. My mom’s book club was reading it one month and when she was finished, I decided to pick it up and try to push through.

I did. (For reasons, I’ve previously stated in this post)

It was alright. The storyline is good, but the writing is too descriptive and the dialogue is BORING. I think the only thing saving me from pitching this book was its crime novel genre.

JK Rowling, make this 200 less pages and you’ll be set for an outstanding book.

P.S. I will not be reading the two other books in this series. I do not understand what the hype is all about.


The Senator’s Wife

Sue Miller

Goodreads: ⭐⭐⭐

Portia Bridgewood: ⭐⭐

I’m going to be honest with you, I checked this book out from the library because it had a pretty cover. I started reading over spring break and kept reading because I thought something, like, really good was going to happen. Turns out, once a cheater, always a cheater. I’m recommending that you stay away from checking this one out next time you swing by the local library.


The Underground Railroad

Colson Whitehead

Goodreads: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Portia Bridgewood: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

One of the coolest things ever happened the day after I brought this book home from the library…It won a Pulitzer Prize! That’s so cool!

I enjoy reading and learning about the slavery era of the United States, so I knew this book would be perfect to get back on track from those two star books I was reading. Colson Whitehead didn’t disappoint.

The Underground Railroad is a little difficult to jump into and keep reading, but it’s worth it. It does share a glimpse of the challenges and difficulties of an escaped slave trying to start a life of freedom, but it also looks at the side of those who were involved with running the Underground Railroad.

My only wish with this book is that it had more information about each of the stops and challenges the characters faced throughout the book, but that’s probably me just being greedy.


The Girl Before

JP Delaney

Goodreads:⭐⭐⭐⭐

Portia Bridgewood: ⭐⭐⭐

This one was a pretty good read. I thought it would end up a little different, but it’s still worth the time. The Girl Before is all about a house that makes you live as a minimalist while changing your lifestyle to be the healthiest you can be. I thought the concept of a house that controls your life was a little freaky, but honestly, it would be kind of cool to live in a place like that for a few months. This one was a pretty good read. I did think it would end differently than it did, but I guess that’s a good surprise!


I’m currently reading Outlander by Diana Gabaldon.

Apparently, this book has, like, seven others I can read when I’m finished with this one. Yay for summer reads! Hopefully I end up liking it enough to keep reading, but right now the only thing I’m struggling with is to hold the 627 page, paperback book. I’ll keep you updated on how the reading goes as I get farther along. (AND I’m not going to watch the t.v. show until I finish reading all the books, so please don’t spoil anything for me.)

-PB

Leave a Reply

